Mark Talbott to Receive Callahan Sportsmanship Award at U.S. Open

Mark Talbott on the WPSA tour. (image: Ham Biggar)

US Squash will honor Mark Talbott with the 2017 Robert W. Callahan Men’s Sportsmanship Award at the U.S. Open presented by Macquarie Investment Management. The ceremony will take place during the fourth-annual Character in Sports Day on Wednesday, October 11, at the Daskalakis Athletic Center at Drexel.

Arguably the greatest American squash player in history, Talbott won more than two hundred and fifty squash tournaments during a long singles and doubles career in the 1980s and 1990s. He won three National Singles titles, two U.S. Open titles and seventeen major singles titles. He was in the inaugural class of inductees in 2000 into the U.S. Squash Hall of Fame.

(image: Stanford)

He was renowned for his sportsmanship. He was a paragon of graciousness on the court. Twice in major tournaments he took points away from himself by calling a winner down, losing games as a result. In 1991 the men’s hardball tour awarded him the Sharif Khan Sportsmanship Award.

From 1996 to 2004 Talbott coached the women’s team at Yale, leading the Eli to the national title in his final season there. Since 2004, he’s been the coach at Stanford. Both Yale and Stanford women he coached have been awarded the Richey Award for individual sportsmanship. and in 2013 he was given the Chaffee Award for team sportsmanship.

Purchase tickets for the Character in Sports Day Reception here.

Character in Sports Day calls attention to the importance of sportsmanship in squash. It welcomes all past recipients of national sportsmanship awards including the Callahan, Feron’s Wedgwood, the DeRoy (for junior players), the Skillman and Richey (collegiate individual awards) and the Sloane and Chaffee (collegiate team awards).

The Robert W. Callahan Sportsmanship Award was inaugurated three years ago. Previous winners include Ed Chilton in 2014, Rich Sheppard in 2015 and Richard Chin in 2016. Bob Callahan was the men’s coach at Princeton for thirty-two years before he died in January 2015 at the age of fifty-nine. His teams won three national titles and more Skillman Awards than any other college in the nation. He founded the world’s oldest squash summer camp and in 1998 directed the World Junior Men’s Championship. He was inducted into the U.S. Squash Hall of Fame in the Class of 2011.