Harrity Receives USOPC Athlete of Year Award

Todd Harrity accepting this year’s United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee Athlete of the Year award from Kevin Klipstein.

Since 1991, the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee Athlete of the Year has been US Squash’s highest award for achievement in international competition. Today at the 2019 FS Investments U.S. Open, Todd Harrity was given this year’s award.

“We are so proud of Todd and all that he has achieved,” said Kevin Klipstein, President & CEO of US Squash, during the on-court ceremony at the 2019 FS Investments U.S. Open. “He exhibits tremendous sportsmanship and integrity. As the very first pro to join our Elite Athlete Program, Todd has been a trailblazer.”

The twenty-eight-year-old Philadelphian had the most successful season for a male U.S. touring professional over the course of the 2017-2018 season. He competed in sixteen PSA events, winning matches in two PSA platinum events–the U.S. Open and Black Ball Open–and he captured the 2018 Madeira International Open in Portugal. Harrity’s performances over the course of the year propelled him back in to the world’s top fifty.

Harrity’s success has continued into 2019. In March, he claimed his third National Singles title and reached a career high ranking of world No. 44. In July Harrity led Team USA to a record performance in the Pan American Games in Lima, Peru. He & Chris Hanson won the gold medal in the men’s doubles, and he led the men’s team to its first-ever Pan Am gold medal.

Off the court, Harrity has been a pioneer for the global squash community. In May 2018, he made history by becoming the first openly gay male professional squash player.

Harrity has been supported by US Squash’s Elite Athlete Program since joining the PSA full-time in 2013 following his graduation from Princeton.

Previous USOPC Athlete of the Year winners include Mark Talbott, Demer Holleran, Louisa Hall, Ivy Pochoda, Michelle Quibell, Gilly Lane, Timmy Brownell, Amanda Sobhy and last year’s honoree Olivia Blatchford Clyne.