Chin to be Honored with Callahan Sportsmanship Award; Gough with Fergusson Grand Master


Richard Chin

Character in Sports Day Registration

The third-annual Character in Sports Day, presented by the Paul Miller Auto Group, will be held at the Delaware Investments United States Open on Thursday, October 13, 2016. Three people will be honored at a reception that evening: Richard Chin, Michael Gough and Mona Butterfield.

Richard Chin will receive the 2016 Robert W. Callahan Men’s Sportsmanship Award. Chin has been the head pro at the Harvard Club of New York since 1997. Originally a badminton player in Guyana, he switched to squash during a shuttlecock shortage and emigrated from Guyana to New York in 1981. He was an All American for all four years at Cornell and captain of the Big Red team his senior year. He reached the finals of the National Singles (the open SL Green draw) three times, played on six Team USA squads at the World Team Championships (more than any other male in U.S. history) and has long been on the board of StreetSquash, the urban squash program in Harlem. This past spring he captured the 45+ division at the National Singles. Renowned for his fair play, Chin was honored with the Skillman Award, the national award for men’s collegiate sportsmanship, in 1991.

Michael Gough

Michael Gough

The Robert W. Callahan Sportsmanship Award was started two years ago. Previous winners include Ed Chilton in 2014 and Rich Sheppard in 2015. Bob Callahan was the men’s coach at Princeton for thirty-two years before he died in January 2015 at the age of fifty-nine. His teams won three national titles and more Skillman Awards than any other college in the nation. He founded the world’s oldest squash summer camp and in 1998 directed the World Junior Men’s Championship. He was inducted into the U.S. Squash Hall of Fame in the Class of 2011.

Michael Gough will receive the 2016 A. Carter Fergusson Grand Masters Honor Roll award. In 2014 in Hong Kong, Michael Gough became the fifth American to ever win an official world squash title when he captured the men’s 75+ division at the World Masters. In 2015 and 2015 Gough took the men’s 75+ division at the British Open Masters. Based in Atlanta, Gough is known as a gracious, generous player.

The A. Carter Fergusson Grand Masters Honor Roll, established in 2010, is named after the Cal Ripkin of squash. After leading Yale to a national title his senior year, Carter Fergusson played in sixty-two consecutive National Singles tournaments from 1948 to 2009. The award is given to men and women who exemplify Fergusson’s example of squash as a lifetime sport.

Mona Butterfield

Mona Butterfield

Last fall at the annual Howe Cup, Mona Butterfield was awarded the 2015 Feron’s Wedgwood Sportsmanship Trophy. A longtime player in Washington, DC. Butterfield is a strong adherent to the ideals of fair play and fellowship with opponents. The Feron’s Wedgwood is US Squash’s oldest sportsmanship award, having been given out annually since 1979.

Character in Sports Day calls attention to the importance of sportsmanship in squash. It welcomes all past recipients of national sportsmanship awards including the Callahan, Feron’s Wedgwood, the DeRoy (for junior players), the Skillman and Richey (collegiate individual awards) and the Sloane and Chaffee (the team awards).

Register for Character in Sports Day at the U.S. Open here.