Baldwin & Haverford Honored at U.S. Open


Tonight two local squash teams, from Baldwin School and Haverford School, were honored on the ASB GlassCourt at the 2016 Delaware Investments U.S. Open.

Last winter, both teams won titles at the 2016 National Middle School Team Championships at Yale and made the championship match of the 2016 National High School Team Championships.

Baldwin captured the middle school title with a 3-2 victory over Episcopal Academy. The Polar Bears, coached by Richard Glanfield, Mithun Das, Nabilla Ariffin and Jamie Macaulay, included Meghna Sreedhar, Margo Mancuso, Saachi Singh, Maya Gambhir, Theresa Kay, Aleezah Burhan and Jaclyn Dichter.

Haverford took their second middle school national championship (they won their first in 2014) with a 4-1 victory in the finals over Inter-Academic League rivals Springside Chestnut Hill. The Fords, coached by Asad Khan, included Charlie Baker, Quintin Campbell, Carter Joyce, Graham Joyce, Yeshwin Sankuratri, and Christian Shah.

Baldwin, having won the national high school title in 2015, lost 5-2 to Greenwich Academy in the finals this past year. Haverford’s high school team narrowly lost in the finals of the national high schools. The squad, led by national junior champion Sean Hughes, went down 4-3 to Brunswick School.