Andrew Nehrbas to Receive PSRA Service Award

Founder, director and president of SquashSmarts, Andrew Nehrbas will receive the Philadelphia Squash Racquets Association’s Service Award at the 2017 United States Open on Sunday October 8. The ceremony will be on the ASB GlassCourt following the 5:30pm match.

In 2001 Nehrbas and five other Philadelphians created SquashSmarts, the non-profit after-school youth enrichment program. It has eight children from one public school in the city. Sixteen years later, SquashSmarts has grown to thirteen staff serving 150 students and sixty-four alumni at Drexel and at the Lenfest Center in North Philadelphia. Since 2011 Nehrbas has been president of the board of SquashSmarts.

“The PSRA is proud to recognize and honor Andy Nehrbas as the recipient of the 2017 PSRA Service Award,” said Nick LePore, the president of the PSRA. “Andy has provided years of fruitful service and leadership to the squash community and the youth of our region, including serving as President of the PSRA from 1989 to 1991 and most significantly has since 2001 been a founding force and leader of SquashSmarts, the region’s highly respected urban squash program.”

Nehrbas was a four-year member of the varsity at Franklin & Marshall, graduating in 1975. A long-time leader, he has been president of Merion Cricket Club (2003-06) and the U.S. Jesters Club (1996-98). A left-wall doubles player, he has won a masters division at the National Doubles five times: the 45+ in 2003, 50+ in 2008 and 55+ in 2015 (with Doug Rice) and the 60+ in 2016 and 2017 (with Kip Gould).

Nehrbas is the founder and executive vice president of the Nehrbas Group at Janney Montgomery Scott. He and his wife Danna have four children. All played squash in college: Chris and Scott at F&M; Ted at Hamilton; and Jill, who is a sophomore at Dartmouth.

The world’s oldest squash organization, the Philadelphia SRA—originally called the Philadelphia Association—was founded in 1903. Previous winners of the annual PSRA Service Award include Molly Pierce (2013), Ken Jaffe (2014), Frank Reidy (2015) and Bill Lane (2016).

Purchase tickets on